| go to index of reviews | go to entry page | | go to other departments |




Clarissa Marzán

The 76th New York Drama Critics Circle Awards


The winners of the 76th annual New York Drama Critics' Circle Awards were honored at the celebratory dinner at Agnus McIndoe in Midtown Manhattan on Monday May 16.

The panel of theater critics struggled to choose the winner of Best Play, as they underwent four rounds of voting before finally conferring the award to David Lindsay-Abaire's "Good People."

"The Book of Mormon" by Trey Parker, Matt Stone, and Robert Lopez won Best Musical. After three rounds of voting for Best Foreign Play, the award went to Jez Butterworth's "Jerusalem."

The Circle members decided to present three Special Citation awards. The first went to the Broadway revival of "The Normal Heart." The second was awarded to Mark Rylance for his performances in "Jerusalem" and David Hirson's "La Bête." The last Special Citation award was given to the direction, design and puppetry of Nick Stafford's adapted play "War Horse."

The New York Drama Critics' Circle, the second-oldest theater award in the country, was founded in 1935 as a protest to the Pulitzer Prize for drama. Now composed of about 25 theater critics from New York metropolitan area publications, the Drama Critics' Circle meets annually to choose and honor the best new plays of the season.

| home | reviews | cue-to-cue | discounts | welcome |
| museums | NYTW mail | recordings | coupons | publications | classified |